Paris, Friday 13, 2015

It’s hard to know exactly what to say about the events in Paris.

Obviously my thoughts go out to victims, their families and friends, along with those in the region who went through the fear and worry of having the events unfold so close by.

Ever since the 9-11 attacks, I have been struck by the idea that these terrorist are willing to give up their lives to meet their aims.  Now please don’t mistake this for admiration or respect.  There is nothing honourable in the deliberate targeting and murder of innocent people.

It does however, give me pause.  If these people are willing to die for their cause, surely I must be willing to die in defiance of them. That’s not to say I want to die or that I’m looking to put myself in harms way.  I’m not asking to be a martyr.

The simple fact though, is that these gruesome tactics only truly succeed when we let them scare us into altering the way we live.

There’s a careful balance of course, between fear and caution.  There will be counter measures to this.  We will see increases in security for events that involve large gatherings.  The authorities will likely be more visibly vigilant.

For our part we must do our best to move on.  If you have a concert to attend, make certain you go.  If you have social plans, keep them.  Take that flight.  Be at that football match.

As horrific and terrible as the events of last Friday were, with so much wasteful death and unnecessary loss, for all the terrorists planning, all we need do to make their mission a failure, to foil them, is to move on regardless.

I don’t want to die.  But if I do so because I decided to go out and live my life, because I refused to let terrorism dictate how I live it, then so be it.

If we make that decision, they will always lose.

Leave a Reply

